< October >
Choose a date to see what’s on.
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
242526272829 30
Newsletter Sign Up
Latest Tweets

Loading tweets...

Empire Theatre & Cinema

DOWNLOADS:  Seating Plan | Booking & Venue Info | Technical Spec | Friends of The Empire | Event Cinema | Showtime Combo | What's On Autumn / Winter 2016-17 | Afternoon Tea


The Empire Theatre & Cinema is a popular 500 capacity venue in the heart of Consett, screening live theatre shows ranging from comedy and children's plays, to classical ballets and live music. The Empire Cinema screens the latest blockbusters and 3D movies, with a state-of-the-art digital projector. The Cafe Bar also offers a place to unwind, with a superb range of beverages, cakes, pastries and more.

Customer Notice: We are currently experiencing intermittent problems with our phone system. We are working to resolve these issues and apologise for any inconvenience experienced by our customers.     

ONLINE BOOKING: The 'choose a seat' option from the online seating plan is not available when booking from Apple iphone / ipad and some other devices, however seats will be offered on a 'best available' basis. Visa and Mastercard accepted only. 


Nine Lives (PG) Sat 22nd - Sat 29th October 2016 The Rubettes featuring Alan Williams Fri 28th October 2016 7.30pm Los Endos - Ultimate Genesis Sat 29th October 2016 7.30pm The Girl On The Train (15) Mon 31st October - Thu 10th November 2016 Sing-a-long-a Dirty Dancing (15) Fri 4th November 2016 7.30pm Festival of Remembrance Sat 5th November 2016 7pm Inferno (12a) Fri 11th - Thu 17th November 2016 Spotlight Present: Alice Through The Looking Glass Tue 15th - Sat 19th November 2016 Bridget Jones's Baby (15) Fri 18th - Thu 24th November 2016 The Australian Ballet: Cinderella Wed 23rd November 2016 7pm Andre Rieu: Christmas With Andre Thu 24th November 2016 7pm Joe McElderry - Driving Home for Christmas (SOLD OUT) Fri 25th November 2016 7.30pm Sleeping Beauty - Pantomime 2016 Fri 2nd - Sat 31st December 2016 A Street Cat Named Bob (12a) Fri 2nd - Thu 15th December 2016 RSC Live: The Tempest Wed 11th January 2017 7pm CBS present Snow White Mon 16th - Sat 21st January 2017 A Viennese Strauss Gala Fri 27th January 2017 7.30pm Johnny Cash Roadshow Thu 9th February 2017 7.30pm Les McKeown's Bay City Rollers Sat 4th March 2017 7.30pm The Circus of Horrors Thu 9th March 2017 7.30pm Big Girls Don't Cry Fri 17th March 2017 7.30pm Classic Rock USA Sat 25th March 2017 7.30pm The ELO Experience Sat 8th April 2017 7.30pm The Australian Ballet: Coppelia Wed 19th April 2017 7pm RSC Live: Julius Caesar Wed 26th April 2017 7pm Talon - The Best of Eagles Fri 28th April 2017 7.30pm Bringing On Back The 60s Sat 13th May 2017 7.30pm RSC Live: Antony & Cleopatra Wed 24th May 2017 7pm RSC Live: Titus Andronicus Wed 9th August 2017 7pm
View all Today's Events

Contact Venue

Opening Times:
Mon - Sat: 10am - 3pm
Tue - Sat: 6.30pm - 9pm

Sundays - open 45 mins prior to performance.

Closed Bank Holidays

Front Street,
Co Durham

(01207) 218171